Contribute Information Here

Return To Menu

Members of the 1000 Hour Club (Order of the Griffin) Founded by Buzz Borland

Front Row L to R

Jamie Watt,  Buzz Borland,  Dave Fromow,  Nick Nicholls.

Rear Row

Arn Garlic,  Jim Grant,  Vern Taskey,  Norm Ramsey.

Return To Menu

1000 Hour Certificate belonging to Capt D.K. Johnstone.

Return To Menu

1000 Hour mug belonging to Capt. R.G. Heitshu.

In December, 1958, I was attending the Long location Course in Shilo, Manitoba. I did my continuation flying at 2AirOP flight, Shilo. On Saturday, December 30th, 1958, I went flying with Doug McMillan and took the opportunity to fly over the Shilo ranges to do a bit of crater analysis. On our return to the hangar, and to enter the flight in my logbook, I realized I had just flown my one thousandth hour. That is when Doug McMillan said I should be eligible for the Order of the Griffin and the 1000 Hour Mug. I understand that the Order of the Griffin was originated by Major Buzz Borland when he was commanding the Light Aircraft School (LAS) at CJATC. The certificate that I received has been lost, but I still have the mug.

BGen R.G. Heitshu

New Items

  • Hello Niner Six Newsletter Archive. The Newsletter of the Air Observation Post Association of Canada.
    Includes all volumes from January 1990 to February 2012: View Content.

  • LAPC Graduate Images CJATC Rivers, Manitoba: View Content.

    Images and names researched and compiled by LCol John Dicker with the assistance of BGen Joe Oakley.
  • 1 Air OP Flight Group photos.
    Assistance would be welcome in identifying personnel in these photographs: View Content.

    Compiled by BGen R.G. Heitshu.